Lincoln Heritage Council has thirteen geographical districts and four service areas, and it is one of the oldest local Councils that serves both urban and rural areas in the United States.

It all started in 1916 under the name Louisville Council, and in the 1930 the Council was extended to 22 counties and became know as the Louisville Area Council. Finally on April 1, 2012 Council welcomed 39 counties in western Kentucky, Illinois, and Tennessee and the territory became the Western Service Area.

Lincoln Trails Councils headquarters are in Decatur, Illinois, and it operates Rhodes-France Scout Reservation that is a 600 acre summer camp near Pana, Illinois.

Scouting programs that Lincoln Trails Council offers are:

  • Cub Scouting
  • Boy Scouting
  • Sea Scouting
  • Venturing
  • Exploring